Fit is Everything - Infinitely Adjustable for Optimal Comfort & Performance!

"I am a believer of Schleese and all that the company has to offer."

Ever since sitting in my new Schleese Triumph saddle for the first time in March 2018 I've wanted to write a testimonial of the  significant changes that have taken place in my riding and how my horses are going. I felt the changes immediately when I test rode the Triumph. Both of my horses I mainly ride are 14.1 and 14.3 hands, have short backs and small saddle support areas. I was thrilled to know there was a saddle that fit us all. So many dressage saddles I saw advertised were designed for large, wide backs which wasn't going to work for my Spanish Barbs. Think small Lusitano type build. Within the first 5 minutes, literally, of riding in my new Triumph, my horses back came up right under my seat, his trot easily became loftier and lighter than ever before. For me, I realized in another 5 minutes, I could focus more on my horse now and not on trying to retain a certain position. Unbeknownst to me I had been using a lot of focus on my position and where all my body parts needed to be. I have struggled to hold my leg underneath me for as long as I can remember, but a few laps around the arena I didn't have to even think about my position any longer and could just focus on how my horse felt. I just fell into place. You can probably imagine how happy that made my horse! Happy horse, happy human! Over the last 6 weeks I have made such progress in my development as a rider  and my horse has progressed just as quickly. It has given me confidence which has filtered over to my horses. This last week I spent 4 days away taking lessons with an international Working Equitation judge and competed in my first Working Equitation show. I felt like I have never ridden so well and my horse has never been so on the aids and happy in his work. I can honestly say I believe the changes all have to do with my new saddle. Both physical and mental. I have to mention as well that I had glamour options of a tooled half moon and carmel colored welting added which I love! The Schleese saddle pad which came with my saddle is my favorite pad and I plan on ordering more. The saddle is a piece of art in my opinion. I ride proudly in it. I have now convinced two of my students to attend fitting clinics this month. I am a believer of Schleese and all that the company has to offer. Attached is a photo of myself and my horse Morado from our recent lesson trip. Thank you for providing such a great product!

Stephanie Lockhart, Johnson, VT

May 9th 2018

"Love the quality of the saddles, the adjustability and the fit for both me and my horse."

Claire Nicol and Second Look “Murphy”. Murphy is a 14 year old OTTB. I’ve had him for 6 years and we event. He’s never gone better since getting my Schleese saddles. I ride in the Merci XC and the Link II. Love the quality of the saddles, the adjustability and the fit for both me and my horse. #saddlefit4life

Claire Nicol, St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

February 2nd 2018

"The custom fit Obrigado saddles saved the day and made exceptional difference"

Dear Schleese Team, Last year in the US, I've met your saddles for the first time. We were solving some problems with various horses, including sore back and SI problems. The custom fit Obrigado saddles saved the day and made exceptional difference in complementing our classical dressage training. Thank you for that! I study and teach classical dressage in Portugal with the pupils of Nuno Oliveira. I really like how the saddles compliments the work with the horse -youngster or schoolmaster- without compromise. Also I was very pleased to work with your staff during the fitting in Seattle. Even though I was fitting saddles before, I was very pleased to get new knowledge from them. We spent a nice afternoon fitting 3 dramatically different horses (QH and Lusitanos, age from 4 to 17), breaking down our issues to detail. Thank you!

Marketa Stakova, Lisbon, Portugal

January 24th 2018

"I am very impressed with the beautiful workmanship and the fantastic fit of this saddle"

I just want to write and thank you and your company again for the generous gift of a custom made saddle. We were all so excited when we found out that we were getting a Schleese saddle. Hemi is the recipient of the beautiful custom fitting saddle. He is a very special horse. He is a 17.1 hh Oldenburg gelding with a heart of gold. Everyone who comes on the property falls in love with him. He follows people around like a puppy dog and loves to cuddle, blow on your neck or lick your face. Hemi has a very special job. He is a lesson horse for riders of a variety of ages and abilities. Because of his gentle nature, he is perfect for riders with various needs. He stands perfectly still while beginner adults learn to groom. His current riders include a 16-year-old young man with Autism, a father of 4 children (2 of whom have Autism), an Occupational Therapist (who wrote the letter recommending Hemi for the saddle) and a single Mom who recently lost her Mother to cancer. I also enjoy riding Hemi because he always tries his hardest to please and to learn. We do some low level Dressage and jumping. The saddle that Hemi won has made life much better for him and for his riders. We had had a difficult time finding a saddle that fit Hemi because of his up-hill build and asymmetric shape. Saddles always slipped back and to the right. This saddle stays in place on him. In the past, Hemi indicated that he was uncomfortable in various saddles we tried by pinning his ears back when asked to canter. He happily picks up a canter for all of his riders now. In the past, riders had a hard time finding their position and learning to post because saddles on Hemi placed their legs too far forward. They find it very easy to keep their legs in the correct position with this saddle. I am very impressed with the beautiful workmanship and the fantastic fit of this saddle. Next time I buy a saddle for my own horse, I will definitely be looking for a Schleese. Thank you so much.

Cynthia Andrews, EC Competition Coach, CanTRA Senior Instructor, Elk View Equestrian Head Instructor and Facility Owner, Chilliwack, BC

January 11, 2018

"Schleese saddles are in my opinion by far the best saddles on the market for comfort, quality & looks..."

When I had qualified and entered Amistad for Rolex 2010 it was there I decided was a good place to start looking for a saddle sponsor with all the vendors available.  There were so many saddles to look at many representatives to speak to.  I had met Miriam Boutros at the Schleese Saddlery booth while I was sitting in every saddle they had.  She was professional, courteous and very friendly taking the utmost time to tell me all about their saddles how they are fitted so horse and rider can get optimal comfort out of their saddle. It was the detail of explanation plus sitting in them and liking the feel myself that I picked Schleese Saddles out of all the vendors I visited to ask for a sponsorship and with fingers crossed approximately 4 weeks later I got a call that they'd come and fit my horse for me.  I was excited to ride in a Schleese saddle! Schleese saddles are in my opinion by far the best saddles on the market for comfort, quality & looks for the rider and allowing any horse to perform to its highest ability because of the freedom of movement it provides and also the comfort of how/where it sits on any horse that is fortunate to be properly fitted with one! I have been riding in their saddles for almost 8 years now and as 2018 is just around the corner I would like to thank you, Jochen and Sabine, for your superior Saddles which I have had the honour to be sponsored with.  Julia Dixon you are amazing and talented saddle fitter our horses love you! Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart and I would like to wish Schleese Saddlery and all its staff a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!  

Michele Mueller, Olympian, Port Perry, ON, Canada

December 18th 2017

"Thank you again for your amazing gift, and for choosing to support Sunrise"

On behalf of Sunrise, I would like to thank you most sincerely for the saddle which you donated for our therapeutic riding program. It is a beautiful saddle, and I'm sure it will be most useful in our program. Every day, we see the amazing progress that can be inspired by the human-animal bond, as riders speak their first words, stretch further or sit up straighter on their horses. Our certified instructors, wonderful therapy horses, and dedicated volunteers work together to help each rider reach their therapy goals. Sunrise is also a special place of belonging and acceptance, where individuals of all abilities can belong, contribute and thrive emotionally and socially. This personal growth is every bit as important as the physical or cognitive therapy goals and achievements. Thank you again for your amazing gift, and for choosing to support Sunrise through your anniversary contest.

Alissa Gibson, Sunrise Therapeutic Riding & Learning Centre

December 14th 2017

"It felt like riding on a cloud."

Being a western rider for 50 years I've ridden and owned 7 saddles that I thought fit me and my Arabians, Quarter Horses, and Tennessee Walkers. Saddle fit was frustrating as each horse had different conformation, and my body changed as I aged leading to a less than optimal ride. I was constantly frustrated with these saddles being generic cookie cutter designs assuming that any saddle would fit and provide that optimal ride. They were pretty on the outside but a disappointment in terms of how they fit me and my horses. Becoming exposed to biomechanics and correctness of movement working with various trainers, and attending clinics the Schleese Saddlery Devin western saddle was mentioned as the answer to my prayers for a saddle designed with rider and horse in mind. It seemed to good to be true. I saw your presentation Memorial weekend at the Mane Event at Westworld and got to sit in the Devin, see how comfortable and adjustable it was...and decided to purchase one, despite the price. 3 months later my stunning saddle arrived, was fitted to both my horses after measurements were taken of their withers and backs I enjoyed my first ride. I could tell with each successive ride my horse moved more correctly, rounding his back, relaxing into his best cadence of gait. It felt like riding on a cloud. It is obvious that no detail has been overlooked after 6 years of development before the Devin was released. I recommend without reservation this saddle and the customer service provided by Schleese Saddlery.

Diane Bell, Cave Creek, AZ

December 11th 2017

"Since I have been using a Schleese saddle, I have felt more confident riding such a big horse."

My daughter bought a Schleese saddle for me after watching me fall off my Clydesdale. Since I have been using a Schleese saddle, I have felt more confident riding such a big horse. I find after riding for over half-an-hour, my back was not hurting anymore. The first long ride I had after getting the Schleese saddle was 2 hours! I couldn’t believe the difference in how I felt when I got down off the saddle. I was able to walk ‘normally’ (without feeling stiff and bow legged)! Thank you for making such a comfortable saddle that will fit any horse!  

Kim Wood, Ontario, Canada

December 11th, 2017

"We were thrilled to receive the saddle you donated as part of your 30 year anniversary. It’s beautiful!"

Hello from Powell River Therapeutic Riding. We were thrilled to receive the saddle you donated as part of your 30 year anniversary. It’s beautiful! And it fits our sweet Desi perfectly. I have attached a picture of him proudly wearing it. I’ve also attached a picture of our big Thank You sign, that now has your name on it for the next month. This sign is on one of our shelters that faces a busy road here in Powell River. It’s also beside the entrance that the PR Trail riders Club uses to access their riding arena. Thank you again for your generosity, we are truly grateful.

Eileiah Kelly Barn Manager at PRTRA, Powell River, BC

December 4th 2017

"I was immediately sitting perfectly and so comfortable to walk, trot, canter and piaffe!"

People often complain when unhappy but don't take the time to share gratitude. Today was my first ride in my new Obrigado! Luanne Reaume has been fantastic. She got the measurements just right for me and my PRE stallion. It was a joy finally getting a custom saddle for me and my horse. And tada, I was immediately sitting perfectly and so comfortable to walk, trot, canter and piaffe! And my horse was happy too. I cannot wait to get back in this saddle. Your saddle manufacturers did a great job. The quality is beautiful. I have ridden in many different dressage saddles. This is the most comfortable and well balanced. It puts you in the exact right place right behind the withers! I wanted you to know what a pleasure it was to work with Luanne. She is a treasure to your company and we customers.  

PK Harrison, Boon, MI

December 4th 2017
1 2 3 11 13 Next ›

Find an event near you

Rider
Testimonials

Hi. My name is Jennifer Pitzel and I am an Equine Massage Therapist. We spoke at The Mane Event in Red Deer about your saddles. I thought you might be interested in seeing the photos I took. Keep in mind that I am amateur rider who took 3 years off of riding. Recently I bought a new horse, a 5 year old. I find I struggle to find my balance with my legs either too forward or too far back. The first photo is of me in your saddle designed for the male pelvis. The second photo is your female designed saddle [see side photo of female saddle]. Thank you for coming to Alberta to give your talks! I feel I really got a better understanding of what you have written and spoken of in your book and DVD which I am familiar with.

— Jen Pitzel - Edmonton, Alberta

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Archives

Categories

Meta